Community
Civil 3D Customization
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D Customization topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating pedestrian pier/boardwalk views with corridor and custom subassemblies

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
ray_mordo
168 Views, 1 Reply

Creating pedestrian pier/boardwalk views with corridor and custom subassemblies

I am working with an old school engineer on the construction plans for a fixed pedestrian pier. I have a task to create profiles and section views and a few other components for viewing on the plans. My background is mainly site civil and utilities (aka working in C3D for upland site work) so I'm unfamiliar with creating a custom/2024 way to do this easily. Because my job is not structural design, my company would not be approve me to get an expensive license for an actual bridge modeler package or something like that.

My thought was to use a corridor and create custom subassemblies/.pkt files. If I do multiple plans like this in the future, creating these templates would speed it up, show the sections with the grades and piles, and automate the labeling process for the future,  I am very familiar with general roadway and sidewalk corridor design and customizing code set styles- that's really the main reason I'm asking if I can do this with a corridor. (Here's to crossing my fingers that the months I spent months designing pretty custom sidewalk corridors at my last firm helps now lol) However, I'm on the lower end of experience with custom subassemblies that I've made myself (aka I would need to watch some youtube tutorials as I go to refresh). 

Essentially I'm looking some input and discussion on:

1. Is this feasible and/or is C3D, sans any plugins/addins/extentions from a structural modeler program, capable of what I want to do?