Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Impact of the intlet and outlet design on flow in a pipe

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
frederic.gaillard.7
793 Views, 6 Replies

Impact of the intlet and outlet design on flow in a pipe

Hello, 

i'm currently studying the effect of the geometry of a pipe. Ultimately i want to know what are the best dimension of the pipe to maximise the air flow toward the fan (araignee_vitesse.png) . Adding a bevel or not on edges are also a topics on this study.  

My question are more oriented to the geometry of the intlet and the outlet. 

1. Intlet : 

Is that correct if i put P=0 on every surface of my air bloc ?

or it's better to simply add a surface condition on the two littles entrance and suppress the rest of the air bloc ?

2. Outlet 

This part is more complex because the outlet is a really environnement where there has physical wall, pressure and opening. 
For the moment, i'm only interrested about what's happening in the pipe so knowing that, what should be the best outlet design to freely evacuate the air, regardless the pipe design. 

And finally,  from your perspective,  do you think the flow who's evolving in the outlet can i have an effect on the flow in the pipe ? 
Before i go further i want to put some light on this aspect. 
Thx You 
Fred 

PS     ''araignee_vitesse'' is the velocity profile in the region of interest (L pipe) 

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7

Hi,

Nice to see another rotating region model 🙂

Be careful that you only have flow going in one direction over the larger P=0. Otherwise your pressure drop might be out - if this is the case, consider making the length longer.

Do not put P=0 on all regions, you really want a clearly defined inlet and outlet.