How do you get a V2 Version if you never published?

How do you get a V2 Version if you never published?

kudzuman
Advocate Advocate
2,782 Views
6 Replies
Message 1 of 7

How do you get a V2 Version if you never published?

kudzuman
Advocate
Advocate

We have a new BIM 360 Design project with several Revit 2019 central files initiated into the collaboration space. We have opened them all through Revit and synchronized. We have synchronized some a few times already. However, we have not published any of them yet. When looking at them on docs.b360.autodesk.com in Document management, some of the models show up as their version being V1 and some V2. Nothing higher than V2. The ones that show V1 can be opened in Revit by the team to edit but do not show up when trying to link them into one of the other models. The ones that are V2 can be seen and linked. How do you get the V1 models to become V2? Synchronizing does not make any of them increment higher.

0 Likes
2,783 Views
6 Replies
Replies (6)
Message 2 of 7

mespaillat
Alumni
Alumni

Hello @kudzuman,

 

Thank you for posting to our forums! If you did not publish to Docs using the Collaborate button within Revit, would you please respond with the method used to get both V1 and V2 files into BIM 360 Docs (Document Management)?

 

Did you?

  1. Manually upload to Docs
  2. Opened in Revit
  3. Edit + save to Docs

I am interested in the steps used to create both versions to better formulate my response. I am sure you may have already though of this, but what happens if you manually upload an updated version of the V1 file/model to the same location in Docs?

 

Regards,

mespaillat

 

Autodesk Support Team

 

 





Thank you for choosing Autodesk Support!

Regards,
mespaillat

Autodesk Support Team
0 Likes
Message 3 of 7

kudzuman
Advocate
Advocate

The development team is looking into this. Certain models will only go to V1 when you initiate collaboration to the cloud through Revit, even into different folders or the same folder. It seems to be something file specific that causes the system to behave in this manner.

0 Likes
Message 4 of 7

jayson.sterba
Alumni
Alumni

hi @kudzuman,

 

thank you for posting the update! Please post here when you receive an update or solution so that other community members can see it, in case they run into the same issue.

 

Have a great day. 


Jayson Sterba
Customer Programs Manager, Preconstruction
0 Likes
Message 5 of 7

AdamPeter
Autodesk
Autodesk

Hello @kudzuman,

 

When a model is initiated to the project from Revit we wanted to make it available right away in the Manage Cloud Models dialog for other users to open so it will also appear in the Project on Docs even if it hasn't finished translating yet.  Technically, this is v1 of the model.  The translation of the file into the viewable sheets and views creates a second version of the model, so once that is complete and you can click on the model and view it in Docs it ends up being v2.  

 

I know this not ideal.  In Manage Cloud Models it will show v1 but on the website show v2, however after even just a few Sync with Centrals on the model without publishing those versions don't match anyway.  The limitation on the web site is that we touch the file twice.

 

If you are seeing Revit models on the website with just a v1 you can usually draw one of two conclusions:

  1.  A model initiated to the project through Revit failed to publish
  2. or was uploaded outside of Revit (either with the normal upload button, drag and drop or via Desktop Connector)

Hope this helps explain it a little better. 




Adam Peter
Customer Program Manager
Autodesk
Message 6 of 7

kudzuman
Advocate
Advocate

What you describe is supposed to happen and does for many of our models except for 2 of them.

We have initiated cloud collaboration on many models through Revit and when we go look at them in Docs via a web browser, we see they are V2. However going through the exact same process with 2 specific project files, they never get to V2, even if several synchronizations have occurred. The automatic translation you mention does not seem to be happening with these 2 models. As a result they cannot be seen in the link Revit models dialog box from other models if you have read only access to the folder they are in, whereas other files in that folder can be seen and linked in. This happens even when initiating those 2 files to other folders. Like I said, the development team is working on it, but they do not have a solution yet.

0 Likes
Message 7 of 7

Chad-Smith
Advisor
Advisor

I too have been wondering about the instant V2 when first publishing. Hopefully, this could be resolved in the future to only, truly, show it as a first (V1) publish.

0 Likes