Share vs Permission in BIM 360 Design

Share vs Permission in BIM 360 Design

jake
Contributor Contributor
2,341 Views
3 Replies
Message 1 of 4

Share vs Permission in BIM 360 Design

jake
Contributor
Contributor

Can someone explain (or point to an explanation) of the difference between permissions sharing and protocol for when things show up in the "shared" folder?  

Thanks,

Jake

0 Likes
Accepted solutions (1)
2,342 Views
3 Replies
Replies (3)
Message 2 of 4

markus_briglmeir
Community Manager
Community Manager

Hey Jake, 

Have a look here, this might help, if not let me know please. 

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/bim-360-design-collaboration/design-collaboration-permission-levels/t...

 

Best regards, 

Markus


Markus Briglmeir, Product Manager BIM 360 Design Collaboration

0 Likes
Message 3 of 4

jake
Contributor
Contributor

Hi markus,

I understand HOW to share and set permissions.  My question is understanding what uses there are- if someone has been granted permission then the files have been shared- so whats the purpose between share and granting permission if in order to share you also have to grant permission (as understand it)?

Also does the "Shared" folder have a use besides a location for the design collaboration packages?

Thanks,

Jake

0 Likes
Message 4 of 4

martyn_messerli
Autodesk
Autodesk
Accepted solution

Hi Jake, maybe the graphic do better explain the workflow and adds some light in to your question: https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/bim-360-design-collaboration/linking-cloud-workshared-models-in-bim-3...

 

In the low-trust workflow, customers want to control what data is shared with other teams. The shared folders allow us to separate the WIP data from the data teams want to share with other teams. To so, we do grant different permission levels for individuals/roles on WIP folder (Team folder) and Shared folder. With that right permission setup created with the Administrator, teams are not able to see the WIP of other teams. Consuming a package will copy the latest shared information from the selected team to the WIP Consumed folder which we also monitor. This allows Administrators monitor when data has been shared and consumed by the different teams.

 

In case you are logged in as administrator, you will always have access to all the folders. But Team members are usually only limited to the WIP folder where they have read and write access and to the shared folder where they only have read access.

 

To answer your question: Shared folder has only one use, provide access to teams to see and consume shared packages from other teams. This is also the only way to see or retrieve the models from other teams. The sharing team has control over when and what data is shared.

 

I hope this helps to better understand the low-trust environment of Design Collaboration.

 

-Martyn

 




Martyn Messerli
Software Engineer