With the introduction of latest folder permissions in BIM 360 Document Management you can assign View Only permission to partners on your company’s folder. Making it possible for partners to see the documents but not edit the content or delete them (accidently).
Very useful and could be applied to the Shared folder for the Approval Workflow. However partners cannot place (public) markups or approve the documents with View Only permission. They can only make Private Markups on the documents which are not visible for others and can’t be published. For public markups and approving documents the partner needs View+Edit permissions, but with this the partner can also change the content of the documents or even delete them.
Placing the documents for approval in a separate folder and then moving them back afterwards doesn’t work well with the versioning of the documents.
The best solution would be to add another permission level of “View + Public Markups” to make use of the Shared folder like it should be. Or add public markups functionality to the current View Only permission.