AutoCAD Plant 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Plant 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Plant 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I edit Pipe Lengths in the 3D model?

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
robmcdonnell
5458 Views, 7 Replies

How do I edit Pipe Lengths in the 3D model?

Hi to all,

I'm only getting started with this program (am not a total novice with CAD having used vanilla for 19yrs), so please forgive the simple question, but how do I edit the length of a pipe once it has already been routed in the 3D model? I've been messing around with it for ages but to no avail. Have trawled the web & Autodesk help files but can't find the answer, which I'm sure is fairly straightforward when you know how.

Here's the gist of the issue. I have roughly routed some pipes & one of the lengths of pipe ends up, say, 3.274m long & there is a 90deg bend on either end. If I then want to edit that Pipe length to a more tidy 3m length, what do I do?

I've tried this by selecting the pipe by clicking on it & then when I rest the cursor on either of the 'Move Part' end grips or similarly click on either of these grips, the length of the pipe (3.274) appears on screen, greyed out, seemingly ready to be edited to my new 3m value. Thats as far as I get as I cannot manage to highlight this length value in order to edit it, whether by pressing tab or the arrow keys.

I also tried using the Base point command that appears as an option after clicking Move part but this just seems to let me specifiy a distance to either add or subtract to the current length.

The best I can do at the moment is click & drag the pipe end until by trial & error I eventually get close to the length such as 3.0956m or something or else I use a calculator to determine the length I need to delete from the pipe & then use Base point for that.