AutoCAD Map 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Map 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Map 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Map Newbie - Help with Object Data

22 REPLIES 22
SOLVED
Message 1 of 23
Anonymous
2717 Views, 22 Replies

Map Newbie - Help with Object Data

All,

I am a Map newbie with respect to using the database functions and attaching data (I've used it for years for coordinate transformation but that was it).  So here's my conundrum:

I have a file with property boundaries in it.  I have managed to set up my Object Class for the property lines and attached a data as attributes to the entities.  Or at least when I go to any properties, all of the attributes are listed.  However, I cannot get these to display in table form, particularly for editing.  For example, I want to populate several fields by clicking on the map in a location (i.e. the click retrieves the coordinates and populates the field).  Additionally, once I've got it to display in table form and populated, I need to export the data to a DBF file so that others in the organization can open and populate certain fields without Map (these are usually "Notes" fields).  Please help!

P.S. I did attempt online training but unfortunately, there isn't much out there.  The course I did through Global E-Training was complete garbage.  Thanks.

22 REPLIES 22
Message 2 of 23
ChicagoLooper
in reply to: Anonymous

Object Data can only be 'viewed' using Map3D and Civil3D. Users who use Vanilla AutoCad can view the 'geometry' or the object itself, but they won't be able to view the Object Data that is attached to the object.

Please explain in detail what you have besides property boundaries because simply saying you have a prop boundary does not provide enough info to formulate an effective workflow.