Community
AutoCAD LT Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD LT Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD LT topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pirated Software?? - Shady Online Vendor??

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1574 Views, 5 Replies

Pirated Software?? - Shady Online Vendor??

Hi All. 

I'm new to AutoCAD and I hope you all can help me.  I suspect that a "license" I received with an internet purchase of AutoCAD LT 2008 is bogus, but I have so little experience with this software I can not be sure.  The instructions I received tell me to get the activation request code from the installation process and then after I enter a "serial number or group ID" which was provided on the install instructions, I am to enter the request code into "AutoCADGen.exe" and it spits out an activation code. 

This looks very blatantly like a key generator and therefor like a hack.  I have asked the vendor to provide links to instruction for this registration type and they have been unable to do so.  I have also been unable to find information on typical registration scenarios for this program so I find it hard to argue.  Please share your experiences and guidence with me.  I need to obtain a legal license especially because I intent to use the software for business purposes.  If this software is not legit, I will demand a refund.

Thank you, in advance, for your input.

-Aaron

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Charles_Shade
in reply to: Anonymous

Wait for someone else to contribute as I do not install the software often enough to remember but Autodesk does generate a activation code after you enter the SN for the install. Their way of keeping you honest.

Google does not return AutoCADGen.exe - Reason for pause maybe?

LT 2008 software is old though. Was this a new sealed-in-box purchase? If the SN is associated with another install then you will have great difficulty with activation.