lost my custom classic workspace

lost my custom classic workspace

Anonymous
Not applicable
3,200 Views
5 Replies
Message 1 of 6

lost my custom classic workspace

Anonymous
Not applicable
I just installed ACAD LT 2019 on a new computer, and lost my Classic workspace that I had customized. It is all different, with lots of missing things and am at a loss as to how to get everything back that I had set up.
0 Likes
Accepted solutions (1)
3,201 Views
5 Replies
Replies (5)
Message 2 of 6

pendean
Community Legend
Community Legend
There has not been a Classic workspace in LT for a few years now: if you created one it is still on your old computer.

Let us know what/when/how of your new setup compared to your old setup: we can't see you or your setups of your space or much else from way over here.



0 Likes
Message 3 of 6

Anonymous
Not applicable
I very disappointed that my workspace did not transfer over. Now I have to
spend an hour or more to set up a new workspace. Autodesk needs to let us
keep our workstations so that we don't waste our time constantly trying to
recover what we had worked so comfortably with before.
Message 4 of 6

pendean
Community Legend
Community Legend
Transferring content from one PC to another requires the user to do all the heavy lifting, nothing is saved anywhere that gets restored.

Did you use any of the export settings tools on the old PC and the import settings tools on the new PC? Or move personal content beyond just symbols libraries? Explain the challenges if you wish.

0 Likes
Message 5 of 6

Anonymous
Not applicable
I didn't use any export or import tools, I would have if I had known about
them. Will just have to spent the time, again, setting up my workspace and
toolbar layout to where I want it. Then I will save that workspace. I have
worked with Autocad for 25 years now, and it never seems to get any easier
with all the updates.
Message 6 of 6

dgorsman
Consultant
Consultant
Accepted solution

I'd recommend a little investigation into how some of the things in AutoCAD work.  Most of these haven't changed significantly for many releases.  In this particular case, workspaces are stored in and accessed from the CUIX files.  User changes can only be saved in the current Main.  You can use the ACAD.CUIx as the Main, but in order to move your saved workspace to a new computer that would mean replacing that file.  So it's usually recommended that you use a custom CUIx file as the Main, and load ACAD.CUIx as partial to the Main or Enterprise. 

 

Use the CUI editor to explore the contents and what is stored, and whwre.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.


0 Likes