Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which 'CAD' software?

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
351 Views, 4 Replies

Which 'CAD' software?

Hi,

My head is spinning trying to figure out the correct Autodesk software..

I am a tutor at Brighton Film School and have asked to teach a 'CAD-type' software to the art department students who mainly work on technical drawings for set design etc. They would also like to be able to turn these drawings into 3D for previz and potentially even 3D for vfx/compositing purposes. The 2D designs should be printable in industry-standard formatting.

Which Autodesk product would you recommend I should teach?

Many thanks,

PJ Palomaki

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
john.vellek
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi @Anonymous,

I see that you are visiting as a new member. Welcome to the Autodesk Community!

I believe for CAD type functionality you might consider AutoCAD or AutoCAD LT for your students. This is good general-use software that can be utilized for a wide variety of drawings and documentation. It is also capable of 3D and rendering.

You might also consider REVIT or REVIT LT  as they actually can do the 2D and 3D at the same time. Rendering can also happen in both packages.

For photo-realistic rendering, designs can be brought from any of these applications into 3DS MAX.

All of these can be downloaded as free 30-day trials so I suggest you give them a try to see which will meet your requirements.

Please select the Accept as Solution button if my post solves your issue or answers your question.

John Vellek

Join the Autodesk Customer Council - Interact with developers, provide feedback on current and future software releases, and beta test the latest software!