Line Weights and Printing Issues

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
6539 Views, 7 Replies

Line Weights and Printing Issues

Hello, 

I'm a student, new to AutoCAD 2017 (windows 10) and have been teaching myself how to use it through different videos, however, in the past couple of days I've having issues when it comes to printing. 

I originally was managing to print fine with the lines not looking too bold or too thin. I was leaving the Plot Style Table as none, leaving Plot with Plot Styles and Plot Paperspace Last ticked and unticking Plot Object Lineweights. 

I have recently bought a new printer as I need to scan in A3, however, when I print with the exact same settings on this printer, the lines are very thin and weak, so you can hardly see them, even though, in the plotting preview and model space it looks fine.

Because the settings seem to work fine on one printer and not on the other, I automatically assumed it was an issue with the printer, however, it prints everything else fine, just has issues with anything from AutoCAD. (I have spoken to Epson, however, they say the problem is definitely with AutoCAD.)

I have tried to look in other forums already opened for any idea on what to do, however, nothing has seemed to help. I have tried ticking and unticking different Plot Options and trying different Plot Style Tables, but when I start reading about ctb and setting your own light weights I confuse myself as I don't know much about them.

I was just hoping if anyone could help and knows what I can do. When creating my drawings, I didn't set any specific line weights like a couple of forums mention, but I wouldn't know where to start. Also, when I do tick Plot Object Lineweights, only some lines (such as doors and certain lines) get really thick, while others stay thin. Is this due to me not choosing particular line weights?