Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is something like this possible to draw for a total beginner?

21 REPLIES 21
SOLVED
Message 1 of 22
Anonymous
1317 Views, 21 Replies

Is something like this possible to draw for a total beginner?

Hello everyone,

I'm a new guy here. I have never tried AutoCAD before. I have tried some simple things in SolidWorks but nothing special. I am not in engineering field but I am keen to learn in this field. I have spent a lot of time studying mechanics, self learning, working on my own vehicle, repairs, some welding, restauration, disassembly and reasembly, etc.

However, when it comes to 2D or 3D drawing I have no experience whatsoever. 

Now, a few weeks ago my key fob for my car broke in two pieces, literally in half. I have been using my second one since then. Having only one key bugs me and I want to fix that. A new one costs a fortune and I am that guy that does not want to pay a ridiculous amount of money for something that I can do myself, possibly.

The key fob housing is plastic. It has electrical components inside and a rubber button for unlocking. My idea is to construct the key fob in AutoCAD and make a 3D printable file and reproduce a key fob and make multiple copies, maybe even sell some. 

The problem is that the key fob inside seems very complex to me. Finally, my question after this obnoxiously long intro is, what do you think, is a total beginner able to learn and draw this up in 3D in lets say a month or two?

I will try to attach some pictures of the key fob to show you what I am talking about.

Kind regards everyone,

Stjepan from Croatia

20180330_194205.jpg20180330_194128.jpg20180330_194122.jpg

john.vellek has embedded your image(s) for clarity

21 REPLIES 21
Message 2 of 22
pendean
in reply to: Anonymous

How many months you got?
Message 3 of 22
Anonymous
in reply to: pendean