Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
Community
AutoCAD Forum
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export from AutoCAD to STL

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
theodore.tsesmelis
4637 Views, 10 Replies

Export from AutoCAD to STL

Hi guys, first of all I would like to say that I am totally new to autocad. I have the two attached .dwg files of a indoor room (same room with small changes in each .dwg file) which they provide the wireframe of the room. Now I would like to make these wireframes solid and save them as .stl files, which then I would like to load in matlab so that to get the x,y,z points and create a kind of point cloud. The problem that I am facing now is that for some reason I cannot export them as .stl files because it is complaining that is not solid or something like that, then I tried to make them solid with the ways that you are describing in this thread but without success, therefore I would appreciate if someone could help me with that. Thanks. 

Tags (1)
10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11

Hi @theodore.tsesmelis,

I see that you are visiting as a new member to the AutoCAD forum. Welcome to the Autodesk Community!

I am looking at your LAB file and see that it is made up of primarily 3Dfaces and blocks. I am not sure where the furniture blocks came from but you might isolate each one and verify that they can be exported to STL.

I suggest that you also isolate objects. For instance, put your walls on a wall layer, your ceiling on a ceiling layer, your floor on a floor layer. This will help you move around and work in your model.

I suggest also, before you insert components into your space, that you consider building the room and verify that an export to STL gives you what you are trying to achieve.