Did you mean: 

DXF with image Xref are "unreadable" during initial loading

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
philippeCAW5G
4031 Views, 4 Replies

DXF with image Xref are "unreadable" during initial loading

Hi, 

I'm a software developer and I generate some DXF with images (xref). Here's the problem I have:

Images with relative paths fail to show on DXFs opened in AutoCAD by default. XRef manager shows them as !unreadable. You have to go to the xref manager and manually 'Reload' them before they show.

someone tried to solve this issue 2 years ago over here ( https://github.com/mozman/ezdxf/issues/27 ) I'm not using the same library but I have the same issue.

philippeCAW5G_0-1630531338126.png

If you Reload, everything thing is fine from now on. To reproduce the error you need to move the dxf +jpg somewhere else.

This doesn't seem to be an issue with pdf files but only images.

I'm using Autocad 2022 but I know this issue is also present in previous version.

You can reproduce with the following sample files available at (sample.dxf + image.jpg) : https://github.com/haplokuon/netDxf/tree/master/TestDxfDocument

Thanks for your help! 

Labels (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
jrreid
in reply to: philippeCAW5G

We are unable to download your files.

But I made a DWG with a JPB and PDF xref'd in.

DXFOUT to make a DXF file.

Opened the DXF file and all of my links worked.

Try saving your DXF as a DWG then close and reopen the DWG.

Hope This helps.

JRR.

Message 3 of 5
philippeCAW5G
in reply to: jrreid

Hi, 

Here's a link for the sample data might be easier to download:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1w-yAVQinEk1H6aJD1tXLTfbOmKWC_ttb?usp=sharing

The issue seem to be only when we open the DXF with the "Open..." inside AutoCAD (see the screenshot below). If I directly double click the DXF file everything load correctly (usually)

philippeCAW5G_0-1630600980401.png

Message 4 of 5
jrreid
in reply to: philippeCAW5G

WOW!! That is crazy. Never seen this happen before.