Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dimensions not to sclae in viewport

15 REPLIES 15
Message 1 of 16
Anonymous
1932 Views, 15 Replies

Dimensions not to sclae in viewport

I am trying to dimension a 10' line in a viewport that is at 1" = 1'-0". I dimension it in model space an it shows 10'-0".  When i dimasion it in paper space, I get 10".

I could do this with ths same drawing the last time I worked in it.  How do I get it to show 10'-0" dimension in paper space?

15 REPLIES 15
Message 2 of 16
pendean
in reply to: Anonymous

Are you dimensioning over the viewport, in the layout?
Are you snapping to END or INT points, or just "getting close"?
Is DIMASSOC set to be on in the file?
AutoCAD version?
Message 3 of 16
Anonymous
in reply to: pendean

Are you dimensioning over the viewport, in the layout? Yes
Are you snapping to END or INT points, or just "getting close"? End Points
Is DIMASSOC set to be on in the file? Yes
AutoCAD version? 2016

Message 4 of 16
pendean

Show us your DWG file please
Message 5 of 16
Anonymous
in reply to: pendean

Message 6 of 16
Anonymous

Make sure you're actively working in or "through" the viewport in order to ensure you're applying the dimension to the objects in model space, which is where it is its true length.  I get the same results you do...if I simply place the dimension on the line in paper space without first making sure my viewport is active.

Message 7 of 16
drjohn

DIMASSOC = 2

Regards,

DJ

Message 8 of 16
pendean

Your DWG file does not exhibit the problem if I draw a 10foot line in modelspace then dimension it in paperspace.

Capture.PNG

Message 9 of 16
jackshield

THIS METHOD WOULD PLACE THE DIMS IN MODEL SPACE?

SURE THATS WHAT YOU WANT TO DO?

Message 10 of 16
Anonymous
in reply to: jackshield

Not sure it's what they want to do as it isn't made clear which method they would actually prefer.  I did make it clear that that is what it will do, so it is one method of achieving the described goal.