AutoCAD workspace deletes saved settings

AutoCAD workspace deletes saved settings

lisa.mcguinness
Contributor Contributor
744 Views
4 Replies
Message 1 of 5

AutoCAD workspace deletes saved settings

lisa.mcguinness
Contributor
Contributor

My company has it's own profile set up for CAD and so the target for the shortcut is "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2017\acad.exe" /product ACAD /language "en-US" /p "<location of company's profile> /w "<company's workspace>".

 

This is locked so I cannot make any changes to it so I've created my own workspace (so I don't have to load menus in constantly and so it is set up the way I like). My problem is whenever I open the shortcut above and change the workspace to the one I created, all of the ribbons disappear and majority of the menus disappear also (file, edit, view, etc.) and I am left with only the menus I loaded into this workspace. The strange thing is when I go to CUILOAD, all of the customisation groups are still there so I'm unsure why all the "standard" menus disappear.

 

Anyone know why CAD would do this?

0 Likes
745 Views
4 Replies
Replies (4)
Message 2 of 5

pendean
Community Legend
Community Legend
Are you actively saving your workspace using WSSAVE command after creation (or putting it back)? Nothing beats manual saves IMHO.

0 Likes
Message 3 of 5

lisa.mcguinness
Contributor
Contributor
Hi,
Yes, I'm saving it each time I make changes. I'm the same as you, manual saves all the time!
0 Likes
Message 4 of 5

pendean
Community Legend
Community Legend
Are you saving to a custom/personal CUIx file on your PC, and was it loaded using CUILOAD command?
Or are you creating your custom workspace in the company CUIx file which you are locked out from and therefore cannot save-to/lose everything when loaded?

0 Likes
Message 5 of 5

lisa.mcguinness
Contributor
Contributor
I believe I'm creating a custom workspace in the company cuix.
The strange thing is that my workspace will save and remain the way I created it for a while, but then on random days it will decide to "remove" majority of the menus/ribbon.
0 Likes