Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Architects Drawing has Incorrect Coordinates

14 REPLIES 14
Message 1 of 15
SBroster
818 Views, 14 Replies

Architects Drawing has Incorrect Coordinates

Hi, I am quite new to Autocad and was hoping somebody could help.

I have received a dwg of an architect which has the correct coordinates of the points written on the drawing but when you ID the point on CAD it is in coordinates I have never seen before.

I require help orientating that drawing to the correct coordinates so that I can upload it on to my total station for setting out purposes.

For reference, the coordinates that the architect has written on the drawing are in British OS grid system.

Many Thanks

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
rkmcswain
in reply to: SBroster

I've seen a lot of drawings that may be dimension-ed or labeled with some values that do not match where the CAD objects lie spatially.

What does your architect say? Is it supposed to be, or did they just draw it at some random point in space?
R.K. McSwain     | CADpanacea | on twitter
Message 3 of 15
SBroster
in reply to: rkmcswain

This is the problem, the architect is very elusive and takes forever to respond to queries and we haven't got the time to wait.

I know that the coordinates they have wrote on the drawing are correct, I just need a way of getting the drawing lined up with them in cad so I can use it in my total station on site.

Cheers

Message 4 of 15
rkmcswain

What do you have in the arch drawing that is known? Points, line bearings, distances?

R.K. McSwain     | CADpanacea | on twitter
Message 5 of 15
SBroster
in reply to: rkmcswain

It is a grid setting out drawing and he has wrote on the drawing the coordinate for each grid intersection and the distances between the grid lines.

I can screen shot later on so you can visually see what I mean.

Message 6 of 15
ChicagoLooper

Hi @SBroster