AutoCAD for Mac Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD for Mac Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD for Mac topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does AutoCAD LT for a MAC work well?

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
katestech
1599 Views, 6 Replies

Does AutoCAD LT for a MAC work well?

I am a designer who has used AutoCAD on a PC.  I would like to put in on my MAC now - does it work well?  And can I transfer workable drawings to someone who is on a PC?

Thanks, Kate

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
pendean
in reply to: katestech

AutoCAD/LT for MAC looks nothing like the Windows interface: will that freak you out?
Other than that the files are completely interchangeable, you don't need to do anything special to the files you are in.
Message 3 of 7
john.vellek

Hi @katestech,

I see that you are visiting as a new member to the AutoCAD for Mac forum. Welcome to the Autodesk Community!

What kind of design do you do in AutoCAD LT?  That might dictate whether a platform change will work well for you. AutoCAD LT for Mac works great on my Macbook but it does not have identical features to its Windows counterpart. There are no Object Enablers for instance that will allow special "objects" from vertical products such as AutoCAD Civil 3D to work fully in the Mac version.

Files coming from the Mac to a PC user however should have no issues at all as the files are identical.

One nice thing about a subscription license for the Mac is that you can actually run  the Mac and Windows versions on the same Mac as long as you have installed a license of Windows into a VM such as Bootcamp, Parallels, or VMware Fusion.  This gives you the flexibility of running either version when appropriate.

Please select the Accept as Solution button if my post solves your issue or answers your question.

John Vellek