AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

One-line drawing issues

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
vasiqshair
1044 Views, 5 Replies

One-line drawing issues

I started drawing a one-line drawing for a switchgear project I am working on but ran in to a few problems: 

1. I tried using the circuit builder tool to build a "one line power feed" but when I hit "insert", nothing happens. No circuit, no components, no wires...nothing! So I decided to abandon the circuit builder and deploy the symbols manually using the icon menu, but I got a "file not found" error. Screenshot attached. I restarted my PC thinking it might be because my RAM is cluttered, but still nothing. All this reeks of a bad installation to me and I'm thinking of uninstalling and re-installing ACADE. My only concern is that I have a bunch of custom-made symbols that I built using the symbol builder. Is there any way I can retain them so I don't have to build them all over again once I re-install ACADE? 

2. I also made a 3 phase drawing that was supposed to accompany the one-line drawing (had ACADE actually let me make a one-line drawing). I was surprised to find that the ACADE symbol library doesn't offer a 3 phase transformer. So I made one using a rectangle and terminals for the primary and secondary connections (delta-wye). Needless to say, it doesn't look professional, so I'll make one using the symbol builder. Might have to build a symbol for a panelboard too. What are your thoughts on this? A 3ph transformer and a panelboard are two of the most common components in electrical installations, and I'm sure you might have come across drawing them at some point.