Announcements
Due to scheduled maintenance, the Autodesk Community will be inaccessible from 10:00PM PDT on Oct 16th for approximately 1 hour. We appreciate your patience during this time.
AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to update drawing from template?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
abdullahseba
2792 Views, 5 Replies

How to update drawing from template?

Hi

I'm new to AutoCad Electrical and have created a template for my drawings.

I've made a few changes to the template but I can't figure out how ro update the drawings.

How can I do this? Is there a way I can do it automatically on save? 

Thanks in advance.

Tags (1)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
jseefdrumr
in reply to: abdullahseba

Templates are basically a one-trick pony. In other words you can only use them once, and only to do one specific thing: start a new drawing. Once that's done, the drawing has no further connection to the template.

Your best bet here is to copy things out of the template to the drawings where you need them. Some things, say for instance a different linetype on one of the layers, can't be copied. You'll have to change such things manually. But new layers can be added simply by copying a line drawn on that layer from a drawing that has it to a drawing that doesn't. Same goes for things like text styles and table styles, etc.

If there is so much of this to do that it seems counterproductive, then another option is to start a new drawing based on your revised template, and then copy all of the stuff out of the existing drawings into that one. Be aware that you will still have to evaluate things to make sure everything is as you want it.

Hope this helps,
Jim

Jim Seefeldt
Electrical Engineering Technician

Message 3 of 6
OP21
in reply to: abdullahseba