Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Mental Ray renders black screen

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
7852 Views, 6 Replies

Mental Ray renders black screen

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to 3ds, using 2014, and trying to render a still image for publication. Aside from all of the memory errors I am getting, when I try to render the scene I just get a black screen. I think it has something to do with my lighting system. It's a daylight assembly, but I'm not sure how to manipulate it so that my scene shows up. Let me know if you need any other files or information, let me know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated,

-Jackie

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
darawork
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

I rendered your scene in 3ds max design 2015 and it rendered ok for me.

The only thing is, your particles were pretty big (50cm) so I dropped them down to .1cm.

I changed the Envionment and effects 'Exposure control' from 'Photographic Exposure' to 'Exposure value', and set that to 13.

I also changed the Daylight system from 'Date, Time and Location' to 'Manual' and rotated the sun to be behind the camera.

Those changes didn't need to be made for the scene to render initially though, there was no black screen here for me... just massive black particles.

Can you list your system specs? I suspect your problem lies there instead.

Darawork
AutoDesk User
Windows 10/11, 3DS Max 2022/24, Revit 2022, AutoCad 2024, Dell Precision 5810/20, ASUS DIY, nVidia Quadro P5000/RTX 5000/GTX760

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: darawork

Thanks for your prompt reply,