Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to combine maps - bump and normal map, 2 displacement maps?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
pawelfb
3813 Views, 5 Replies

How to combine maps - bump and normal map, 2 displacement maps?

I am new in Arnold, and I have 2 questions.

1. I have bump map and normal map, and I need to apply them to my model using Standard Surface material. At first I have to combine them, but I don't know how, because "Normal Bump" map doesn't work with Standard Surface material.

2. I have 2 displacement maps, first is 32bit from ZBrush and second is additional 16bit from Painter. I would like to combine them and apply to my model - how can I do it?

I will be grateful for your help friends:)

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
madsd
in reply to: pawelfb

In order to do something like that you should switch to the Physical material first.

• Use Physical material
  • Add Legacy normal map to bump slot
  • Add my custom high grade normal blend node
  • Add my bump2normal node ( zap wrote it )
  • Disable auto gamma in the texture loaders on both normal map and displacement map

Now if you use a HDRI in the viewport you will be able to see them mix correctly.
Attached the custom shaders, you drop into plugins/OSL and restart application and find them in the OSL category.

This is the correct way to blend the 2 types together.
It also works perfect with Arnold of course.

I attached 2 gif videos, watch them and understand how to operate system.
Also attached the 2 custom shaders.

Here are 2 images from the instuction videos attached.
ww.pngwww.png

------------------------
Mads Drøschler
TD/Artist & Developer.

Your daily dose of OSL Shaders
https://gumroad.com/madsdroschler

Message 3 of 6
pawelfb