Community
3ds Max Shading, Lighting and Rendering
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max materials topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hair and Fur White Spots.

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2282 Views, 7 Replies

Hair and Fur White Spots.

Hi, I'm in need of some help. I'm assuming I got the right info for you:

Product Version - 15.0 Product Update 6 Student.

3ds Max - 2013 x64

Renderer - Mental Ray

Lighting - Mr Sun and Mr Sky (mr Photographic exposure control) 

PROBLEM: I don't use Hair and Fur much, and I'm also an amateur, so I have no idea what's going on. I set the Hairs to Mr Prim or whatever you call it and now I'm getting white reflective like spots. Does anyone know what's happening here? I've looked around a bit, haven't seen anyone with this problem before.

Ignore my silly Cypress Tree cutouts and my ugly wintery background...

Backyard2Post.jpg

If i left out anything let me know!

7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
Brock_Lafond
in reply to: Anonymous

It looks like it might be a material issue. Can you render the hair seperately in scanline and composite it after?

Alias/Wavefront Maya 3 -> Discreet 3DS Max 4 -> ...
Win7 Pro 64
EVGA Classified Super Record 2
Dual Xeon Hexa-Core, 48GB RAM
GTX 780 x 2
Corona Renderer, mental Ray
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous
in reply to: Brock_Lafond

That could be it. At around the time I applied a dark green material to the plane that the hair and fur is on is when I started having problems. So I'll be sure to check.

As for your suggestion to fix it, you mean render the hair in scanline and just apply it using Photoshop? I guess I could, I'm not TOO great with Photoshop (thinking about masking around each individual hair....).
Message 4 of 8
Brock_Lafond

When you render our the hair layer for compositing, save out the image with an embedded alpha. That will take care of the masking for you.