Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

the PROPER way to bake high poly to low

1 REPLY 1
Message 1 of 2
bkovesdi
2791 Views, 1 Reply

the PROPER way to bake high poly to low

Hello all! I have a question here regarding the baking procedure. I apologize in advance for how long this post will be and also thank in advance anyone who replies!

I am a student studying 3D modeling for video games and I'm in the middle of a pretty big project/portfolio piece in school: a diorama that consists of numerous big and small models with their own individual textures. I am pretty comfortable with the general workflow of things; High poly, then low poly, then unwrapping, then texturing and finally rendering in the game engine, but the one thing that i dread and have nightmares about with each model is BAKING. I hate baking because i don't think i fully understand the fundamentals behind it, and online schooling has not helped too much with specific questions like this. So my question for everyone here is what is the proper path to baking your high poly model onto the low?  And what are some quick fixes to the endless possibility of baking issues?

For example: i struggled for HOURS trying to bake a custom Trident of Poseidon, i ran into every possible issue in 3DS and Substance, getting uglier and uglier bakes. I realized part of it was due to me not being able to reset the XForm on my model (thats a separate problem i haven't entirely figured out, i just was unable to reset the XForm on the high poly, had to reimport it completely and it worked that way) but also part of the issue was my low poly pieces were not EXACTLY in the right place where the high poly equivilant was. Does that matter so much? is there any threshold at all with how much a low poly can jut out/ be buried inside a high poly?