Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Smooth conform - a bit of a newbie.

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
3080 Views, 5 Replies

Smooth conform - a bit of a newbie.

Hello.

I am fairly new to 3DS Max and I have modified a model of a mask  I like and created some detail I want to add to it. I created the detail in a DXF format, imported it, created a mesh from it and gave it some dimension in regards to thickness. My issue is that when I try to conform it to the mask shape it flattens and looks choppy.

I have read the conform tutorials and I even tried the surface divide modifier to allow more of a mesh for smooth conforming but with this method the shape I am trying to conform leaves faces that dont belong in the place they end up. It is like it is not conforming some parts of the shape to the mask and leaves them behind causing stretched out looking artifacts.

To make sure I was using conform properly I even created a new file with a sphere and a plane and was able to get good results.

Ultimately I am trying to recreate the second attachment so I can 3d print it. I had originally thought I would us Illustrator to draw vectors for the mask but I am not good at visualizing what an unwrapped mask should look like.

Can someone please help explain how to do a conform with complex meshes or offer advice on a better way to create this?

Tags (3)
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
rendermaster
in reply to: Anonymous

4 Workflows I can suggest

1 - Shapemerge - transform back your facemask to editable spline and do the shapemerge

1 - SHAPEMERGE .jpg

2.  Compound Object - CONFORM

2 - COMPOUND OBJECT CONFORM.jpg

3. MCG - Mesh Conform  

LINK: http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/mcg/va-mesh-conform#attachments

3 - MCG-MESH CONFORM.jpg

4. Script - CONFORM TO SURFACE