Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modeling a Saddle on a Horse

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1304 Views, 5 Replies

Modeling a Saddle on a Horse

Hello Area,

I'm fairly new to modeling, having studied it some in college and now it's part of my job as a carousel designer.

Right now I'm working on a preliminary horse model to test a number of theories I have about the best way I can model our carousel figures to show potential clients.
I am currently trying to place a saddle on the back of a horse and have the saddle sit snuggly on the surface of the animal without passing through. Ideal, I would like for this to be something that could be animated as our goals are to build rigs in the models to show the different positions we can carve our carousel figures in.

I am right now trying the cloth modifier in order to drop a saddle-shaped place onto the back of the horse and then once that is against the surface, extrude the saddle from the plane. However this tends to cause wrinkling and would be great for the saddle blankets which will have lots of folds, including decorative folds in them (I already bookmark a great tutorial for pulling and arranging fabric).

Is there a way to tell the plane (or even the bottom faces of my sculpted saddle) to snap to the surface of the horse's back? Perhaps the surface or attachment constraints? I've tried both of those and so far have not had any luck. I'd like to avoid lining each individual vertex up if possible and I'd like to keep the objects detached for future swapping of various saddle designs.