Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to use Relax by Face angles while unwrapping a tyre?

7 REPLIES 7
SOLVED
Message 1 of 8
Anonymous
2882 Views, 7 Replies

How to use Relax by Face angles while unwrapping a tyre?

Hello, I'm new to 3ds Max.

I'm learning how to texture a tyre.

I've applied the Unwrap UVW modifier to a torus. Then I've applied Flatten Mapping. After that I've manually rearranged the surfaces as can be seen in the below picture. Now the thing is, my teacher has asked me to apply Relax tool, especially Relax by Face angles. I can't figure it out how to use it. 

I've read the Autodesk Document Help for this but its too technical. Can somebody explain it in simple terms, as I've just started learning Max.

Also, how should my uvw mapping look in the end? 

Thanks in advance.

Tags (2)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
blakestone
in reply to: Anonymous

Someone asked a similar question a while back and I recorded this. It includes the use of the Relax Tool so you may find that this has your answer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Ryym0jz2co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Technical 3D Graphic Artist
Autodesk 3dsMax 2015 - Service Pack 4
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Message 3 of 8
Anonymous

It will re-arange the UVs so the face shapes more closely match the shapes of the faces of the geometry.

The UV faces can become distorted when the mapping is projected at an angle, which often happens in a group selection on a non planar surface.

Having said that, this is not how I would map a tyre.

I would make one selection for the tyre tread and apply Cylindrical mapping to that, createing a long rectangular strip for UVs.