Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help with edge loops and fixing edge flow

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
3455 Views, 5 Replies

Help with edge loops and fixing edge flow

Hey Guys,

I'm pretty new to organic modeling, I got this base mesh for my characters body, and I'm having a hard time understanding how to end some edge loops so I can maintain quads, and only quads. I have attached the file so anyone who can look at it and help me out I'd be grateful. What I specifically need help with is creating an edge loop around the are where the legs will be placed. If you open the file, click on the mesh and go to the edge sub-object level the loop I am referring to will be highlighted. Also if you guys have any other critiques on the mesh pleas feel free to tell me.
Thanks.

basemesh01.zip

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Atlas,

Maybe it is not bad to take a look into the AREA Tutorials data base. There are many very useful tips and tutorials which will surely show you the right way to get the result you are after.
For instance you could follow the nice video tutorials published from
Eugene Mishibinijiama (there are 5 of them); http://area.autodesk.com/tutorials/human_face_modeling_nose_part_2
As attachment here is an image of a topology study I did many years ago have a look into it as well. But as I said above the are a lot of very nice tutorials delving into the topic here in AREA and every where online.

ivan

Message 3 of 6
Steve_Curley

And in case Ivan can't find his own posts, you could do worse than look through his Psyche series of threads, They're not tutorials but show the quality of work you should be aiming for.