Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Easier modeling software

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
459 Views, 5 Replies

Easier modeling software

Hello,

I started to work on 3dsMax and I can't get used with it's bizarre way to draw things.

I coming from AutoCAD, Archicad and SketchUp. 

Is there any software that allows you to draw architecture fast and precise as SketchUp but also be compatible with 3dsMax when importing?

I'm an interior designer and I would like to model architecture in a different software and assemble all the pieces in 3dsMax to prepare the scenes for rendering.

Many thanks!

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
irishman_team_kilber
in reply to: Anonymous

most people who are use max use the AEC extended walls doors windows. you know you can import a floor plan on a plane then use the the AEC to model architecture building but these windows can become repeative at times all you have is the same old windows and doors,

the only problem is where autodesk cuts into the wall when you place a door or window if you convert down then you will to boolean a box and to cut a hole in the walls.

Message 3 of 6
dgorsman

Technical design is usually done in other software.  In many cases this is Revit or Revit LT, although there are still some on AutoCAD Architectural (ACA) which should now be part of the "One AutoCAD" package.  The Collections usually include both technical design software as well as 3DSMAX as the high-end visualization tool.

Revit should have a decent workflow to 3DSMAX, as should ACA (and even vanilla AutoCAD).  Is there a specific problem you're having getting this content into 3DSMAX?

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.