Community
3ds Max Modeling
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max modeling topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Does ASUS ROG GL502VM-DB74 Gaming Laptop work for 3ds Max 2018 or 2017?

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
2976 Views, 5 Replies

Does ASUS ROG GL502VM-DB74 Gaming Laptop work for 3ds Max 2018 or 2017?

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting on this site so my question may seem a bit oversimplified.

I was wondering if this gaming laptop can smoothly run 3ds-Max 2017 (or 2018):

ASUS ROG GL502VM-DB74 Gaming Laptop 6th Gen Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD GeForce GTX 1060 6 GB GDDR5 15.6" Full HD 1920 x 1080 Windows 10 Home 64-Bit (VR Ready)

• GPU/VPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060
  • Video Memory: 6 GB
  • SSD: 256 GB
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 6 GB GDDR5
  • Intel Core i7 6th Gen 6700HQ (2.60 GHz)
  • 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD <--------(Does this really matter? Is 1TB Hard Drive + 128GB SSD fine too?) 

I intend to use 3Ds-Max to create renderings of buildings and interior designs of offices. So, I will not be using it for any animations of moving objects of any sort. Other than that, I will use it for 2D Layouts in AutoCAD.

If this laptop is not fit for running 3Ds-Max (for my purposes), are there any other laptops around $1600 in price that can run 3Ds-Max?

Thank You

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
dgorsman
in reply to: Anonymous

Should be OK for running 3DSMAX and limited rendering.  I say "limited" since laptops are built for portability - they aren't built to handle the cooling necessary for running flat-out for extended durations.  If you don't need the portability for 3DSMAX use (that 15" monitor is going to drive you nuts...), spend the money to get a better desktop with dual monitors plus a cheap notebook/chromebook/etc. for basic mobile use, or use cloud rendering.