Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simple stupidity?

8 REPLIES 8
Message 1 of 9
Anonymous
281 Views, 8 Replies

Simple stupidity?

Hello,

I'm pretty new to 3ds max 9 and i have what is probably a dumb question. I am trying to make the background of a render im doing white instead of black, but when i go to render/envriorment, the window never appears. It shows a check mark next to the menu but the window never shows up. just wondering if anyone could help.

thanks

garret
8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Sounds like your Environment diaglogue window is off-screen.

- Press the 8 key (opens the Environment & Effects Dialog)
- Press & release Alt, then the down arrow key once.
- Press M
- Hold down the left mouse button and drag. You should be able to get it back on screen.
Message 3 of 9
Anonymous

Wade,

Thanks for the tip. Im positive you are right about the screen being off the monitor somewhere so thanks for your help. I did try to do this and the window pops up all the way to the right of my screen (the one that allows me to select move) and when i click and drag to move the window into visibility, It deselects that window. Mabee there is a way to reset 3d max to its defaults so all the windows open in their normal locations?
Thanks

Garret
Message 4 of 9
Steve_Curley

There is - find and rename your 3sdmax.ini - but you'll lose any customisations you have made in the process.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 5 of 9
dongray