Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is the latest 3Ds Max worth it?

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1460 Views, 4 Replies

Is the latest 3Ds Max worth it?

I am still using 3Ds Max 2011, with V-Ray 1.5. They work together as a charm, and i am quite used to them by now. Is it worth making a leap to 3Ds Max 2017? I use 3Ds Max solely because i like it (i am not a professional 3D artist or something)

Does upgrading my 3Ds Max to the latest version make modeling easier in tricky situations, or makes lighting more realistic?

Thank You! 

Tags (1)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Out-Of-Light
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi,

Well I can answer that question in two ways. Worth it for performance, and second worth it for value.

Anything over Max 2015 onward will be a significant improvement in performance compared Max 2011.

I still have Max 2013 installed, and when working on very high detailed meshes there are often slight delays or lag, when making changes like adding turbosmooth, or making adjustment in sub object mode etc, but the same changes in max 2017 are instant, and you can throw very high detail meshes around the viewport with ease. There are also a number of workflow improvements and tools that have been added since Max 2011.

There are also major improvements to Iray, and the new Art renderer, which both give very fast realistic results depending on your hardware specifications, plus improvements and more options for lighting and camera's. 

But as for value, that's a little more complicated due to the changes Autodesk have made in recent years on how you can purchase 3ds Max.

As you are a hobbyist, I am guessing you do not currently earn an income from your CG work?  Or do you plan to?