Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Geometry distorting on import.

18 REPLIES 18
SOLVED
Message 1 of 19
colbyroper
1052 Views, 18 Replies

Geometry distorting on import.

A new problem I am having lately is when I want to import geometry from one Max file to another it comes in very big, distorted and squashed, backwards and not even at 0,0,0.
It happened with Max 2020 about 2 months ago when importing, and had never had that happen before 5 years using Max 2020.  I am unable to use that version and am using Max 2024 and having the same issue.  Using Windows 10 64bit pro.  
File I am importing from is on the left and Imported (Merged) geometry is on the right. I rotated the bumper 180 degrees and moved in front of the other car to show how it is distorting.
I have been using Max for 20 years now and have never had this problem. The units are set up exactly the same in both files. This really helps speed up workflow when you can import geometry from another file and not have to completely remodel everything and saves weeks of time. Has anyone else had this issue and know a fix for this. Would really appreciate feedback and help. Thank you.

18 REPLIES 18
Message 2 of 19
RobH2
in reply to: colbyroper

This is a really odd one. Never heard of it before. Can you upload the bumper as a Max 2024 file and let me import it into a new file to see what happens. 

Something you might try, I use a script called 'Copitor' that I think you'll like anyway, and it might even solve the anamoly you are seeing. With Copitor you just copy a mesh to one of its slots, open a new Max file and paste from the slot. It's a really handy script. https://www.sergiomereces.com/script-copitor/   I believe it's free too. 

Rob Holmes

EESignature