Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

error message 0xc0000006

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
1303 Views, 4 Replies

error message 0xc0000006

Hi,
I am a hand drawn animator finally taking the leap into 3D so to start I recently installed the trial version of Max to practise. On the second attempt the program finally installed correctly but upon trying to open the program for the first time the following message appeared '0xc0000006' program could not start up.
It has beem installed on Windows XP Pro SP3 with suficient Ram memory. The graphics card is a NVIDIA Quadro FX570 but with only 256MB memory. Could that be the problem?

Thanks,
Chris
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Steve_Curley
in reply to: Anonymous

Define "sufficient" memory. Is that XP32 or XP64?
The Quadro shouldn't itself be the cause, the drivers for it might be.

Google, google and more google. That error code is associated with many possible causes, from missing dll's to bad disk sectors to virus infestations. We're not going to be able to tell you which it is.

NB. Be wary of sites which say "download this s/ware to fix this error" - many of them will find (allegedly) the problem but you then have to buy it to fix it.

Max 2016 (SP1/EXT1)
Win7Pro x64 (SP1). i5-3570K @ 4.4GHz, 8Gb Ram, DX11.
nVidia GTX760 (2GB) (Driver 430.86).

Message 3 of 5
Anonymous

Thanks for your answer Steve,
Yes that's the first thing I did, google the error, but only 2 clear matches resulted in 2 message board posts (not Area) WITHOUT answers. No other tangible useful results.
The Ram memory is 2GB.
The Windows version is 32bit.
Message 4 of 5
Steve_Curley

While 2GB is the absolute minimum, remember that the OS can take nearly a GB of that leaving just 1GB for Max. Theoretically enough for it to run, but probably not to do anything useful with it.