Community
3ds Max Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s 3ds Max Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular 3ds Max topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Automatic Flatten UV and export

10 REPLIES 10
SOLVED
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
2953 Views, 10 Replies

Automatic Flatten UV and export

Hi all,

I am quite new to all this but I am trying to unwrap and flatten multiple objects for import in UE4. I see there is an automatic unwrapper and flatten (render to texture) which works great but whenever I go to export it says "unable to create destination file". It works if I do a smaller number of objects (less than 100) but anything more than that and I get this message. See screenshots below. Any help would be greatly appreciated.errorr.png

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Alfred.DeFlaminis
in reply to: Anonymous

Hello @Anonymous and welcome to the community,

First, I'd like to apologize that you experienced such a long delay before you got a reply here. I'd like to help find an answer for you. Are you still having this issue?

I haven't seen this error before and I don't have notes for it, so I have a few questions for you.  I did a few tests with about 250 objects exported and it was working for me, so we need to dig a bit here to find the answer for you. 

1) Do you also get this error if you attach these objects to each other before you export them?

2) Which version of 3ds Max is this for?

3) Would it be possible to share this Max file with me?  I can create a private folder for you if you'd like.  Thanks!

Best Regards,

Message 3 of 11
Alfred.DeFlaminis

Hello @Anonymous,

I just wanted to follow up here, any thoughts on my previous post?

Best Regards,

Message 4 of 11
fla3d

Since you are exporting to UE4, I can recommend two scripts I've using, this first one I use mainly for the automatic flatten to channel 2 that is the channel 1 in unreal used for the lightmap: