Community
Inventor Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Inventor Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cheating (help make my life easier)

4 REPLIES 4
SOLVED
Message 1 of 5
tim.clancyYYRYC
299 Views, 4 Replies

Cheating (help make my life easier)

Hi, 

I'm working on a few projects at time moment (I'm an in house designer) and many of the parts for projects are the same but in different assembles. 

Is there an easy way to copy the technical drawing dimensions and view etc of a certain part without starting from scratch. While Still having a different title block information (or at least be editable)(still the same part numbers though).

Any advice would save me hours, thanks

4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

You can just copy and paste views between drawing documents and all dimensions will follow... 

Use iLogic Copy? Please consider voting for this long overdue idea (not mine):https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/inventor-ideas/string-replace-for-ilogic-design-copy/idi-p/3821399
Message 3 of 5

Hi Tim,

This is not cheating. This is for better productivity. If the components are reused or stemmed from the same files (copied, saved as), you can simply use Replace Model Reference (Drawing -> Manage) to swap in the new model (part to part; assembly to assembly; not part to assembly). The annotation should stay.

If the new model source is totally unrelated to the original model source, some annotation may stay but mostly will need to be recreated.

Many thanks!

Johnson Shiue (johnson.shiue@autodesk.com)
Software Test Engineer
Message 4 of 5
IgorMir
in reply to: tim.clancyYYRYC

In such a case - it would be appropriate to create a folder, which contains all the parts, assemblies and drawings for these parts and assemblies. For example - the parts will have numbers 01-01, 01-02, 01-03 and so on.