Community
CFD Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s CFD Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular CFD topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Modelling Fluid Flow Through a Solid Ceramic Foam

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
268 Views, 4 Replies

Modelling Fluid Flow Through a Solid Ceramic Foam

Hi, 

I am quite new to CFDs. Using X Ray tomography I was able to take a CT Scan of a Reticulate Porous Ceramic. I then used Fusion 360 to repair its mesh and exported it as a .obj file after endlessly failing to do it through a stl or step file. I then imported this .obj onto CFD by creating an external volume which tightly encapsulates the solid, as I want to model fluid flow through the solid, as opposed to around it like most other applications. 

I am trying to model flow of Steam at 1200 degree C through the porous Ceramic foam (Silicon Carbide) and have tried many techniques that I read on multiple forums. There are many different problems I am facing:

1) I cant keep the fluid at 1200 and the solid at 24 degrees. Even if I set these properties at initial conditions, and boundary conditions both, as soon as I run the first iteration, either both fluid and solid are at 24 or 1200 C.

Note: Both Fluid and Solid are set to Variable Properties using the scenario environment.

2) I cant model the flow through the ceramic, velocity magnitude through that region is 0.

3) Static Pressure, Wall Forces, Strain Rate, Shear Stress Values are all logically incorrect. 

I am looking to calculate the temperature gradient, pressure gradient, and whatever mechanical properties CFD can solve for to test the mechanical and thermal performance of this ceramic under the fluid flow. 

I am unable to attach the CFZ file here (It is very large due to the ceramic mesh size). I have uploaded it to my onedrive and the link is as follows: