AutoCAD Electrical Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s AutoCAD Electrical Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Electrical topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Insert PLC (Full Units) .dwg files not found

11 REPLIES 11
SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
brent_e_barbour
1475 Views, 11 Replies

Insert PLC (Full Units) .dwg files not found

I’m new at AutoCAD Electrical. I click on “Insert PLC (Full Units)”, click on “AB 1761 MicroLogix (16 spacing)”, click on “L16-AWA 10in/6out AC-DC/115AC-DC” icon, and then I get an error “File not found: PLCIO160M1761-L16AWA.dwg” and shows all the search paths underneath. My first thought is perhaps the file is outside of the search paths so I search my entire hard drive and also the network drive. I can’t find that file anywhere. I randomly select other PLC I/O Fixed Units. Everyone I select, I get the “File not found” error. I double checked my AutoCAD Electrical install and the AB library is loaded, but I guess if it wasn’t, I wouldn’t see in in the “Insert Component” menu in the first place.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
TRLitsey
in reply to: brent_e_barbour

Hi there,

I don't think you will find that file name.  PLC modules are typically built by piece.  Which is to say if you want a 4 point input module it has a top, the middle inputs, and a bottom.  Those pieces are called on and assemble with an ACE routine.  So if you want a 16 point module ACE will call the same top piece, 16 input pieces, and a bottom piece, assemble them all to be one block in your drawing.

But on a standard install you should have the AB components.  Is this a new install?  What Rev are you at and what OS are you on?  With ACE 2017 the attached is what your I/O module looks like.

Good luck

Please mark as a solution if this works for you, kudos are always welcome
Message 3 of 12
brent_e_barbour
in reply to: TRLitsey

OS is Windows 7, 64 bit

AutoCAD Electrical 2018