AutoCAD LT General

Reply
Active Contributor
FLHX
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 1 of 6 (330 Views)
Accepted Solution

Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

330 Views, 5 Replies
02-12-2013 12:18 PM

There must be a simple way to do this.  I'm working on a drawing that's all dimensioned with Arial as the standard font. 

 

I need to make ONE line in the title box a different font;  I'm using a font called CHILLER.  When I go to DIMSTYLE and change from Arial to Chiller, the whole drawing changes to CHILLER.

 

I just want the one line to change, so I have two fonts in the same drawing.

 

Thanks!

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 2 of 6 (327 Views)

Re: Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

02-12-2013 12:23 PM in reply to: FLHX

Don't change the DIMSTYLE. That is Global to the Drawing.

If you want to change the color of one entity you don't change the color of the Layer it is on.

 

If single line, highlite the line and change it using the Properties dialog.

Multiline text may need to be broken up to acheive this.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
Active Contributor
FLHX
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎10-27-2010
Message 3 of 6 (317 Views)

Re: Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

02-12-2013 01:00 PM in reply to: Charles_Shade

Thanks.

I don't see an option to change the Font anywhere in the Properties dialogue.

When you say "highlight it", do you mean to 'select' it?

Valued Mentor
Posts: 439
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Message 4 of 6 (311 Views)

Re: Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

02-12-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: FLHX

Hi, to change the font for that dim, you need to have a text style in the dwg that uses chiller as the font. Then you can change it in properties. In the attached pic I have style 1 set to chiiler.

*Expert Elite*
Charles_Shade
Posts: 8,194
Registered: ‎04-10-2005
Message 5 of 6 (310 Views)

Re: Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

02-12-2013 01:36 PM in reply to: FLHX

Select - Yes

Change it to a different Textstyle - You just can't make it a particular Font like you would in MS Word.

Regards, Charles Shade            Win8 FAQ
CSHADEDESIGN|AUTOCAD LT|LT-KB|DYNAMIC BLOCKS

 
Please mark Accept as Solution if your question is answered. Kudos gladly accepted.
*Expert Elite*
pendean
Posts: 20,320
Registered: ‎11-06-2003
Message 6 of 6 (277 Views)

Re: Multiple Fonts in the Same Drawing?

02-13-2013 05:55 AM in reply to: FLHX

You need to have more than one single text STYLE defined for text in each of your files: manually overridung a font in each dimension you enter is not a good way to draft. And don't use STANDARD for a name, be creative to give youtrself a clue about the font it is using. So for example, one text style is called ARIAL and the other is called CHILLER. Be creative, make them totally useful.

 

And yes, you might as well have more than one DIMSTYLE too, one for each text style if you need that ability. Be creative with their names too.

Dean Saadallah Blog | Facebook | Google+ | Twitter | PINS

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community