Community
Fusion API and Scripts
Got a new add-in to share? Need something specialized to be scripted? Ask questions or share what you’ve discovered with the community.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Script to produce key type device (Covid-19 *Shameless clickbate)

14 REPLIES 14
SOLVED
Message 1 of 15
ppicozzi
987 Views, 14 Replies

Script to produce key type device (Covid-19 *Shameless clickbate)

Hi Everybody...

First let me apologise for being such a noob and wanting to do something outwith my skill level and basically just jump the whole learn how to do it bit... but I have good reason to want to get this done asap.

I work in IT at a hospital in the UK  - we are currently prepping for the impending Covid-19 outbreak.

In my department we make wide use of door lock/keypads like the one shown here. These area are accessed by many people  each having to handle the keypad and knob - not ideal given the current situation!

I have designed a key type thing that presses the correct number pattern, and a knob cover that has a slot that the key can lock into to turn it, all without having to touch the door (well apart from your foot to then kick it open)

random_key.JPG

So that's all good, It works and the guys seem to like it! however I would like to share this out I know of many places it could be of great help just now, I guess I could just stick my STL's on thingiverse or the likes, but I would really like to make it easy for people to create different code combinations.

The 'key prongs' are really just areas of a sketch extruded, could I possibly number these areas then have some sort of script that would create a STL?

I know I'm asking a lot, but also that it really could help stopping Covid-19 being transferred within these types of secured locations.... hence speed in getting it done is kinda essential.

Anyone willing to assist? please.

PaulP

14 REPLIES 14
Message 2 of 15
BrianEkins
in reply to: ppicozzi