Community
Arnold for Maya Forum
Rendering with Arnold in Maya using the MtoA plug-in.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question about MonteCarlo Path Tracing

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Francesco_Furneri
352 Views, 4 Replies

Question about MonteCarlo Path Tracing

Hello guys,

I hope some of you can answer my question.

At school I studied the different GI algorithms and I found them really interesting.
Nonetheless I have a question (mainly of theoretical nature) about the sampling method for indirect diffuse rays.

In the Radiosity Algorithm, at each step, we fire rays from each patch to sample the radiosity from the other patches. For this reason we have a SUM of the different lighting contributions.

In the Path Tracing Algorithm we use a MonteCarlo method which fires random samples from the single point to sample the scene. At the end the result is divided by the number of the fired samples. Thus it is an AVERAGE rather than sum like in the radiosity.

The question is: I can understand the sum in Radiosity but why use the average in Path Tracing and not simply the sum as in radiosity (that intuitively makes more sense to me, as they are elements to be summed)?

In the image we have 9 light rays and just 5 of the them contribute to the final pixel value but we divide by 9. Shouldn't the other rays be ignored rather than being considered in the average?

1644498935494.png

Hope that makes sense.

Thank you very much in advance,

Francesco.

Labels (3)
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5

(summation vs averaging).. because in (the original) Radiosity formulation we ain't really 'sampling'.. we're taking real values of an approximated discrete quantity.. while with path tracing we're taking discrete values approximatively around a real continuos quantity.