SOLVED
Message 1 of 12
jcarey
1069 Views, 11 Replies

"Save all as"

Hello,

I was directed to this forum for this question:

Is there a way to do a "save all as"?

For example, say I have 10 drawing files open and I've made changes to them, then I realize I need to keep the original versions as well as the modified versions. Is there a way to do a "save as" on all of them at the same time?

I would call myself AutoCAD proficient, but by no means an expert.

I have never used lisp before, don't know how.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

11 REPLIES 11
Message 2 of 12
DannyNL
in reply to: jcarey

Yes, that would be possible.

Please see code below; all existing drawings will be 'saved as' to the same name with '-A' added and be closed (unless one of them is the current drawing). New drawings will be skipped.

(defun c:SaveAllAuto (/ SAA_ACObject SAA_Documents)
   (setq SAA_Documents (vla-get-Documents (setq SAA_ACObject (vlax-get-acad-object))))
   (vlax-for SAA_Item SAA_Documents
      (if
         (/= (vla-get-FullName SAA_Item) "")
         (progn
            (vla-SaveAs SAA_Item (strcat (vla-get-Path SAA_Item) "\\" (vl-filename-base (vla-get-Name SAA_Item)) "-A.dwg") acNative)
            (if
               (/= (vla-get-HWND SAA_Item) (vla-get-HWND (vla-get-ActiveDocument SAA_ACObject)))
               (vla-Close SAA_Item)
            )
         )
      )
   )
   (mapcar 'vlax-release-object (list SAA_Documents SAA_ACObject))
   (princ)
)

Message 3 of 12
jcarey
in reply to: DannyNL

Thank you.

I want to try this, but I don't know how. I've never used lisp before.

I don't know how to apply it in my system.

Could you please give me a quick step-by-step how to use the code?

Thank you again.

Message 4 of 12
DannyNL

Assuming you are the only one who will be using this routine: