Visual LISP, AutoLISP and General Customization
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to create a Command to update attributes within Blocks?

12 REPLIES 12
Message 1 of 13
Troy_FerrisVASYD
500 Views, 12 Replies

How to create a Command to update attributes within Blocks?

Hey Everyone,

I am very new to this stuff and was looking for some help.

I have a command that I would like to create that would perform the following task:

- Search a given folder for .dwg files

- Open the .dwg and search for a block named "x"

- Within that Block find attribute Tag "5"

- Change the value of this attribute. The value will always be an alphabetical letter (A or B etc...). I would like to take this value and change it to increase by 1 alphabetically.

- Then save Drawing

Any help you guys could give me please?

12 REPLIES 12
Message 2 of 13
EnM4st3r
in reply to: Troy_FerrisVASYD

Here is a function I use for attibute change of specific Blocks. Maybe this can help for the start

(defun change-attval (Blockname attname val / ss ent i changed-blocks) ; changes attribute value of Blocks
  (if (setq ss (ssget "_X" (list (cons 0 "INSERT")(cons 2 Blockname))))
    (progn
        (princ "\nProcessing Blocks..")
        (setq i 0)
        (setq changed-blocks 0)
        (while (< i (sslength ss))
          (setq ent (ssname ss i))
          (if (is-attribute-p ent attname)
            (progn
              (setpropertyvalue ent attname val)
              (setq changed-blocks (1+ changed-blocks))
            )
          )
          (setq i (1+ i))
        )
    )
    (progn
      (alert (strcat "Block \"" Blockname "\" not found."))
      (exit)
    )
  );if
  (princ (strcat "\nChanged Blocks: " (itoa changed-blocks)))
  (princ)
);defun

(defun is-attribute-p (bname attname /) ; checks if the given attribute is within the block, returns nil if it isnt