VBA
Discuss AutoCAD ActiveX and VBA (Visual Basic for Applications) questions here.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

pulling object data and writing property set data

8 REPLIES 8
SOLVED
Message 1 of 9
dwattersAMXH5
3293 Views, 8 Replies

pulling object data and writing property set data

hello, 

can anyone point me in the right direction to accomplish this task - 

i want to create a VBA to pull fields out of object data (from a pline created from shapefile) 
store the data as an attribute
use that attribute to automatically populate a pre-configured property set table in civil3d (so we can label and create tables with the property set data) 

then loop the functions to all lines selected so that each line gets its own specific object data plugged into its property set data. 

i am new to VBA but have experience with writing lisps, html, javascript so i'm excited to take on this vba project I just need some pointers in the right direction on how to accomplish it.  

ideally we would be able to select which object fields we wanted to copy over  (we have a list of about 20 - they are always named the same from GIS so simply creating generic variables for them wont be a problem) then with some "if selected = use, if not selected = dont use" 
would also like to get feedback from the program to tell if any fields that were selected were not used because property set fields didn't exist for that property that was copied. meaning you selected "field B" but there was no property set field using "field B"s information then it would return " "field B" data not transferred to Property Set Data " 

thanks for any advice! 

8 REPLIES 8
Message 2 of 9

Or better yet, 

any ideas on using Formula property definitions and pulling Object data to use.? 

this would work great if i could get some pointers on if or how to call that data in formula property definitons for property set data with VBA 

Message 3 of 9

RESULT="--"