Stingray Forum (Read Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Stingray Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Stingray topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lua Move unit along angle

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
Anonymous
705 Views, 4 Replies

Lua Move unit along angle

Hi everyone!

I'm attemping to make a unit move in the direction that I rotate it, however I'm very new to programming in 3D.. everything that I've done in the past has always been 2D.

Currently, I have a function that lets me set the yaw, pitch and roll of the object:

function PlayerMovement.set_yaw_pitch_roll(unit, index, yaw, pitch, roll)
    local yaw_rotation = Quaternion(Vector3.up(), math.rad(yaw))
    local pitch_rotation = Quaternion(Vector3.right(), math.rad(pitch))
    local roll_rotation = Quaternion(Vector3.forward(), math.rad(roll))
    local new_rotation = Quaternion.multiply(Quaternion.multiply(yaw_rotation, pitch_rotation), roll_rotation)

Unit.set_local_rotation(unit, index, new_rotation)
end

This appears to work fine, I can set any angle and the object will be correctly positioned. Now, when I go to move him, if I were to calculate x and y velocities for a 2D game I would have done it like this:

// pseudo code
velX = speed*sin(angle)
velY = speed*cos(angle)

Now, my current implementation of this in the Lua for 3D is this:

function PlayerMovement.calculate_transform(unit, index, dt)
    local curr_velocity = PlayerMovement.velocity:unbox()
    local frame_velocity = curr_velocity
    local curr_pos = Unit.local_position(unit, index)

Vector3.set_x(frame_velocity, -PlayerMovement.speed * math.sin(math.rad(PlayerMovement.yaw)) * dt * (1-PlayerMovement.pitch/90))
    Vector3.set_y(frame_velocity, PlayerMovement.speed * math.cos(math.rad(PlayerMovement.yaw)) * dt * (1-PlayerMovement.pitch/90)) 
    Vector3.set_z(frame_velocity, PlayerMovement.speed * math.sin(math.rad(PlayerMovement.pitch)) * dt)