Stingray Forum (Read Only)
Welcome to Autodesk’s Stingray Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Stingray topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Forgive me I am a rookie to Lua and I have a question

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
thomalex89
440 Views, 2 Replies

Forgive me I am a rookie to Lua and I have a question

In the main_menu.lua file there is a statement

Project.MainMenu = Project.MainMenu or {}

If Project.MainMenu is not already a table then you make it one.

From little example I tried I came up with this.

--packed.car = {}     when I comment this out I get this attemp to index global 'packed' (a nil value) if I un-comment it I have no poblems it works fine.

packed.car = packed.car or {}

packed.car = 7
packed.bus = 2300

if(packed.bus > packed.car)then
print("This bus is packed and need to walk or take my car!")

else
print("I will take my car I like being alone")
end

for _, value in pairs(packed)do
print(value)
end

How does this "Project.MainMenu = Project.MainMenu or {}"  not produce an error?

Is Project already a table somewhere and does main_menu lua file have access through the project lua file?

Does it exisit in  core/appkit/lua/util' or  require 'core/appkit/lua/simple_project'?

Sorry for so many questions.

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
kainevg
in reply to: thomalex89

Hi Thomalex.

The topic in which your questions are relating to is 'Modules' in Lua.

I'd recommend watching these videos (I recommend the whole series, up until video 16 which is the Modules video, however you can probably pick and choose if you want to):

Lua Basic Tables - KarmaKilledtheCat

Lua Modules by KarmaKilledtheCat

Also, this is the official Lua documentation on OOP (Again, this the document which this is from is very extensive, covering all aspects of the Lua language, so definitely worth a read):

Lua - OOP

Now to be a bit more specific!

To clarify, the line: