Revit Structure Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit Structure Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit Structure topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Void Extrusion in Nested Family

16 REPLIES 16
SOLVED
Message 1 of 17
Irich
2450 Views, 16 Replies

Void Extrusion in Nested Family

Hello,

I am a newbie to Revit and am having lots of issues with void extrusion!

My top level family is name Edited Family. 

Inside there I have multiple pieces of a plywood family that has varying sizes and varying cuts called LNL Bracket Cutout. So my presumption and research has led me to using a nested void extrusion so I can control them independently. I have done all that. Check the boxes for shared and cut with voids when loaded. I cannot for the life of me get the void to populate up to the top Edited Family. I have only gotten it to show inside the plywood family.

16 REPLIES 16
Message 2 of 17
Revit_Whisperer
in reply to: Irich

I attached the two families used in the video...let me know if these work for you and if you have any other questions  😃

https://www.screencast.com/t/a60CCnLX995

Message 3 of 17
Irich
in reply to: Revit_Whisperer

This is fantastic! Thank you. That has gotten me 90% of the way there and now I can proceed with the next step. 

Now I must be doing something wrong because I am trying to recreate it; even using the notch_void family you shared but I can't get it to populate! The only difference I can find from what your void does and what I am doing is the now the identity data solid/void option in my properties window. I don't know why that would make any sort of difference though!

Message 4 of 17
Revit_Whisperer

Are you saying you can't place it on the plywood?  Do you have it set to place on Face on the ribbon?  Can you copy one of the other ones I already placed?

Message 5 of 17
Irich

No. I used yours on the plywood and so far that works great.