Revit MEP Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Revit MEP Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Revit MEP topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Project templates

6 REPLIES 6
SOLVED
Message 1 of 7
Anonymous
1153 Views, 6 Replies

Project templates

Hi 

I work for a company that offers turnkey solutions for dry room applications and therefore get involved in designing the dry room (walls, floors, ceilings etc). Structures such as mezzanines or support for the dry room. And systems such as ducting and piping routing.  

My question is; I'm creating my own project templates and want to know if i can use one project template for everything we design or whether I should be using different templates for different applications? I'm assuming it's possible to have everything loaded into one project template but will likely slow it down? 

Apologies if this seems like an obvious question, my background is with Solidworks so Revit is a very different way of working for me.

Thanks in advance, 

Josh 

6 REPLIES 6
Message 2 of 7
KotairaKeila
in reply to: Anonymous

Hi Josh.

It's better to have different templates for different specific purposes. For example, one template for Architecture, another for a different discipline (like MEP or Structural); or one to build Residential projects and another to do a different category of building development (like Schools or Hospitals).

After saving as template (*.rte file), you should also see this official template checklist link:
https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles...

Message 3 of 7
Anonymous
in reply to: KotairaKeila

Thanks for the reply and checklist. I notice in the default project templates there is a "systems" template which seems to be a generic MEP template. But also there are separate mechanical, electrical and plumbing templates, whats the purpose for this? 

Thanks, 

Josh 

Message 4 of 7