Announcements
Welcome to the Revit Ideas Board! Before posting, please read the helpful tips here. Thank you for your Ideas!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Auto save/sync promt to come at end of task/action

Auto save/sync promt to come at end of task/action

The idea behind this is that when the Auto save/sync prompt comes up, the user is generally mid task. Often when executing complex tasks this becomes a nuisance.

 

Could the prompt not come after the action/task has been completed?

 

Simple E.g:

 

A slab edge needs to be altered, as you start to edit the slab the save/sync prompt pops up and you now know you have quite a bit of down time until you can complete your task. Many users then skip the save/sync as they would like to complete the task. 

 

Would we not all save/sync more regularly if this popped up after the task/action was completed?

36 Comments
leocallejas
Observer

I totally agree, I have to skip almost every time the prompt comes up because of this. 

trevor.taylor
Enthusiast

Another prompt? Really?

leocallejas
Observer

Not another prompt, Trevor, we're just asking for the prompt to appear AFTER a task is completed, not just after the tool is activated.

trevor.taylor
Enthusiast

Okie dokie. As long as I don't have to click anything. Revit drives me crazy with its message boxes!

revitworkbench
Collaborator

Hi guys!

It would be great if the automatic sync and save reminder did not prompt from a user input command. The simple fact that we try to give Revit a command to do something and instead pulls up the sync or save reminder forces the majority of us to hit cancel instead of sync or save because it means we are in the middle of something and therefore it is not accomplishing its objective. If the save and sync cue however was strictly prompted by a time limit, and just popped up on the screen when the time rule was reached, we would all be syncing more when prompted, because if it did that, then it would more often pop up when we are looking on the paper plan, working in excel, or just came back from the bathroom. We would be like oh ok, yeah Ill sync. but when we try to trim a piece of pipe together or a pick a work plane or something, and the sync reminder cuts in line, its annoying and ultimately ineffective because none of us use it. We (usually) cancel it out because we are trying to get something out the door.That would be SO NICE if you could change that!!! Thanks!!!

pieter5
Advisor

great one!

pieter5
Advisor
dplumb_BWBR
Advisor

I've never liked the fact that there is a "Do Not Synch" option on that dialog.

Especially if you are in the middle of a command, hitting the "Cancel" button is a scary thing.

Am I cancelling the Synch, or the command I'm in the middle of?

Why not just add a fourth button for "Do Nothing"?

 

abigail.olivieri
Advocate

I have not had this experience when the reminders pop up.  I have found that if i just go ahead and click yes Sync., REVIT will Sync the model and then return you to whatever function was active before the reminder popped up. This occurs even if i am in a sketch mode.

dplumb_BWBR
Advisor

Yes, it functions properly.

My issues is with the "user experience."

An experienced user knows what to do, but novices get freaked out when they see that "Cancel" pop up in the middle of a command.

It would be more obvious if there was a fourth button the just said "Do Not Save"

abigail.olivieri
Advocate

Yes its true for new users.   Maybe instead of "Do Not Save" a button  "Save After" or "Save Later"

CRS_Architects
Participant
Or would it not be wonderful if we could set revit to autosave and autosync in the background similar to other programs out there. TIME is money and waiting 30-45 seconds for revit to sync is time consuming, wasteful and just plain annoying.
raifordjh
Community Visitor

You can turn the reminders off by simply going to options and changing the interval to no reminder. I agree it's annoying but you can turn it off, at least in 2017 and I would guess newer versions.

glenbob305
Advocate

There's a special place in hell for any UI developer who allows windows to steal focus from a person who is working. Extra bad is when a program steals focus and places it on a button that is easily clicked by someone who is using the keyboard.  Revit does both of those when reminding when to save and sync.

 

I know you hate your users, and that is why you do this to us.  We noticed that you made that reminder pop up at what is probably the worst possible time (right when executing a command)! Arg! But we users don't hate you.  So on behalf of all Revit users, let's agree to a cessation of hostilities.  All we ask is that you change the UI a tiny bit to stop torturing us!

 

Change the Save and Sync reminder to be intergrated into the Revit window.  It should be a little clock that counts up from the last time you synced and then changes color to signify when it's been too long.  Say green for 10 minutes, yellow for 10-19, red for 20+ since your save and sync.  Don't pop up! Please! 

 

You can flash or play a sound or something, but don't steal focus please.

 

Thanks,

Glen

Tags (3)
galen_dbvw
Enthusiast

Well articulated, i've been thinking this for a while.

 

One additional thing you forgot about what makes this so annoying:

The timer is not reset by manually syncing, so you can go through that whole process only to get the pop-up a few commands later. 

jswoolley
Enthusiast

Putting the sync reminder at the start of a command really is THE WORST place to put a reminder! Why the hell would I stop what I'm doing, wait five minutes to sync, and then go back to drawing a single detail line? I have never EVER pressed the sync button while doing work. I ALWAYS press cancel, do some work, and then sync. 

 

I love your idea of having a non-obtrusive visual reminder for syncing. A good place for the green/yellow/red warning would be to integrate it with the sync button itself, or on Worksharing Monitor to change the color of your name.

glenbob305
Advocate
One additional thing you forgot about what makes this so annoying:

The timer is not reset by manually syncing, so you can go through that whole process only to get the pop-up a few commands later. 

 

 wow @galen_dbvw, I didn't realize this.  I guess I've always disabled these popups because they drove me crazy.  Recently ran into a situation where model would get corrupted if you didn't sync every 30 minutes or less, so I had to turn them back on.

Me: CTRL-S

UI: WAIT! It's been 30 minutes - do you want to save now?

Me: Duh, yes.

UI: WAIT! It's been 30 minutes since you last sync'ed - do you want to do that now?

Me: Well, yes, I would like to do that after I save.

UI: Ok, now you can carry on - starts save command.

 

Me: @glenbob305 was sooo right. I think they come from a special place too.

steven.dodder
Participant

Why do prompts for save and sync appear before the command completes?  It disrupts the workflow immediately, tremendously and obnoxiously.  When working with a large file, it can take minutes to save and sync.  In the meantime, the command begun can be forgotten and you have to figure out where you were in the process.  Placing it after the command completes allows you to save, sync and then continue on.

I'm all for the reminders, but do it after I'm done!

Ben.McQueen
Explorer

It's to remind you before you do something. 

If you break your model with a command, wouldn't you wish it had asked you to save just before you actioned that command?

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea  

Autodesk Design & Make Report


Autodesk Design & Make Report