Announcements
Welcome to the Revit Ideas Board! Before posting, please read the helpful tips here. Thank you for your Ideas!
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Allow Undo Deleting a View in a Workshared Model

Allow Undo Deleting a View in a Workshared Model

Its currently not possible to undo deletion of a view in a workshared model unless you first make the view's workset editable.  Why not just add this function when deleting a view in the first place?

7 Comments
schlueter
Advocate

Why is this not under review. This is so dangerous.

 

First you are not asked if you just hit "delete" when you have a view in the browser selected. It gone in a sec....

 

Second you can't undo this because you didn't make the wokrset editable befor?

 

What is this? *cry*

egriger
Explorer

This would be a huge help for when someone is going through models to clean them up and purge out unused views.  If you delete out the wrong section, that's it, you just have to hope you have a recent backup.  

boyce.postma
Enthusiast

On the Revit website, their first suggestion for this issue is to "Avoid deleting views...". Uh yeah...

As said above, even with backups, there is potential to lose work. Even just a warning is absolutely necessary. I mean, Revit gives you a warning for literally everything else (yes, I know my lines won't be connected anymore). But when it comes to deleting any work that has been done since the last save, you get nothing? Just dumb.

jmuntz
Contributor

Agree, this is just common sense! If you delete a section or elevation marker in a view - you get a warning prompt. So why not get a warning when deleting a view from the Project Browser?? This happened to me at the 11th hour of issuing a complete set of drawings only to find all the callout plans were deleted because someone 'accidentally' deleted the parent view!!

 

I would like one step further and have more control on what views can or cannot be deleted. For example:

  1. Views that are placed on sheets can not be deleted untill they are removed from the sheet.
  2. If a section/elevation/callout marker is pinned on a view then it can not be deleted untill it is un-pinned.
  3. In a worksharing model - if the view is owned by someone else then it can not be deleted by another person untill that view is relinquished
  4. Have a check box in the Properties window to 'lock' a view from being deleted untill it is unchecked
kimberly.fuhrman
Autodesk
Status changed to: Accepted

Congrats! We think this is a great idea, so we've decided to add it to our roadmap. Thanks for the suggestion!

 

If you would like to know the progress of the feature, please check the Revit Public Roadmap or join the Revit Preview Release.

 

The Factory

j.muntz
Participant

Hi, I amazed that Autodesk has not yet implemented a more robust system to prevent view/sheet deletion. For example, when a view/sheet is deleted from the project browser there is NO warning pop-up, however if you delete a section/elevation marker in a view, then you will get a warning pop-up.

 

My work-around and by far the best way to prevent view deletion is by creating a revision which I name view protect - internal use and change the numbering to none so it does not effect revision sequences.

 

I then place a revision cloud on the view OR sheet I want to protect from deletion and then tick the revision as issued and set revision cloud show to none so you don't see the red revision cloud. Now when you try to delete the view/sheet from the properties window you will now get a warning saying "The Revision of this Revision Cloud has been issued. Deletion of this Revision Cloud is prohibited."

 

NOTE: applying a revision to a sheet by selecting the Revisions on sheets from the properties window will not protect the sheet from deletion even if the revision is ticked as issued. There has to be a revision cloud placed on the sheet to prevent deletion. This can be copied to multiple sheets by copying the revision cloud and pasting to multiple sheets at once by using the paste to selected views option.

 

Keep in mind though that this revision name will show on the revision table on the sheets, so you can just leave the date and revision name blank so nothing appears in the revision table.

 

Sheet Issues_Revisions - View Protect.jpg

 

View Deletion warning.jpg

kimberly.fuhrman
Autodesk
Status changed to: Implemented

We are pleased to say that this has been implemented in Revit 2024! Thank you for your contribution to improving Revit!

 -The Factory

 

https://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2024/ENU/?guid=GUID-957814B0-FE82-405E-B4EC-BE470DB76671

 

Can't find what you're looking for? Ask the community or share your knowledge.

Submit Idea  

Rail Community


Autodesk Design & Make Report